l Design Review Board - City of Beaufort, South Carolina

Design Review Board

Click here to see all agendas for the Design Review Board.
See current projects under review.

â–ºSCROLL DOWN FOR SCHEDULE, APPLICATION AND SUBMITTAL REQUIREMENTS


The City of Beaufort Design Review Board (DRB) is a five-member board composed of an architect, a landscape architect, a civil engineer, a local business owner and an at-large representative.  The members are appointed by City Council for two years.  Each member may serve on two consecutive terms.

The Design Review Board reviews applications for development within the Development Design Districts for compliance with the standards and guidelines of the Unified Development Ordinance except for those applications where that authority has been delegated to Staff.  It is the purpose of such review to determine, in a cooperative fashion with the applicant, whether the proposed plan meets the guidelines and other standards of this district.  The DRB also reviews and approves Master Sign Plans for new development.  Planning Staff serves as support for the DRB.

The DRB meets on the second Thursday of each month at 2:00 PM. Meetings are currently held at City Hall located at 1911 Boundary Street. 

For more information on the Design Review Board, contact Julie Bachety, Administrative Assistant, at (843) 525-7011 or by email at jbachety@cityofbeaufort.org


Development Design Districts

The purpose of establishing this Development Design District is to protect and promote the appearance, character and economic value of development in the City of Beaufort, particularly development adjacent to major roads and to assure respect for the character, integrity and quality of the built and natural environments of the City.  These regulations are designed to enhance the quality of development and to promote traffic and pedestrian safety.  The intent of these regulations is not to stifle innovative or creative development; rather, the intent is to protect and enhance the City's unique aesthetic character and encourage development which is harmonious with the natural and man-made assets of the Lowcountry.

Development Design Districts are defined as follows:

U.S. Highway 21 District

The area between the right-of-way and a line measured 500 feet perpendicular to the right-of-way running parallel to the right-of-way on both sides of U.S. Highway 21 from the Beaufort city limits east to the west side of Ribaut Road on the south and to the west side of Sycamore Street on the north.

S.C. Highway 170 District

The area between the right-of-way and a line measured 500 feet perpendicular to the right-of-way running parallel to t right-of-way on both sides of S.C. Highway 170 from the Beaufort city limits northeast to U.S. Highway 21.

Ribaut Road District

The area between the right-of-way and a line measured 300 feet perpendicular to the right-of-way running parallel to the right-of-way on both sides of Ribaut Road from the Beaufort city limits north to U.S. Highway 21 not including any parcels included in the U.S. Highway or Boundary Street District.

Boundary Street District

The area between the right-of-way and a line measured 300 feet perpendicular to the right-of-way running parallel to the right-of-way on both sides of U.S. Highway 21 Business (Sea Island Parkway) from the Woods Memorial Bridge to Cougar Drive at Lady's Island Middle School.

Lady's Island Drive District

The area between the right-of-way and a line measured 500 feet perpendicular to the right-of-way running parallel to the right-of-way on both sides of S.C. Highway 280 from the McTeer Bridge to U.S. Highway 21 Business (Sea Island Parkway), except for those parcels which are located in the "Lady's Island Village Center District" as defined in this section.

S.C. Highway 280 District

The area between the right-of-way and a line measured 500 feet perpendicular to the right-of-way running parallel to the right-of-way on both sides of Broad River Boulevard.

Broad River Boulevard District

The area between the right-of-way and a line measured 300 feet perpendicular to the right-of-way running parallel to the right-of-way on both sides of Broad River Boulevard.

Area-wide Commercial District

Any lot zoned for commercial, office or multifamily development which is not located in the Historic District or a Design District as defined in this section.

Sam's Point Road District

The area between the right-of-way and a line measured 300 feet perpendicular to the right-of-way running parallel to the right-of-way on both sides of Sam's Point Road, except for those parcels which are located in the "Lady's Island Village Center District" as defined in this section.


Board Members

J. Brian Franklin, Chairman
Jane Frederick, Vice-Chairman

Dan Ahern
Bob Albright
Chuck Rushing


2017 Schedule - - DIGITAL SUBMITTAL OF ALL DOCUMENTS ONLY NOW

Meetings are generally held every 2nd Thursday of the month at 2:00 p.m. at 1911 Boundary Street, City Hall, Beaufort,
South Carolina.  If you have any special needs due to a physical challenge, please contact the Department of Planning
& Development Services at (843) 525-7011. 

Meeting Schedule

Deadline for
Regular Projects

Projects Requiring
a public hearing

Thursday, January 12, 2017 Tuesday, December 27, 2016 Friday, December 16, 2016
Thursday, February 9, 2017 Monday, January 23, 2017 Friday, January 13, 2017
Thursday, March 9, 2017 Monday, February 20, 2017 Friday, February 10, 2017
Thursday, April 13, 2017 Monday, March 27, 2017 Friday, March 17, 2017
Thursday, May 11, 2017 Monday, April 24, 2017 Friday, April ,14 2017
Thursday, June 8, 2017 Monday, May 22, 2017 Friday, May 19, 2017
Thursday, July 13, 2017 Monday, June 26, 2017 Friday, June 16, 2017
Thursday, August 10, 2017 Monday, July 24, 2017 Friday, July 14, 2017
Tuesday, September 12, 2017 Monday, August 28, 2017 Friday, August 18, 2017
Thursday, October 12, 2017 Monday, September 25, 2017 Friday, September 15, 2017
Thursday, November 9, 2017 Monday, October 23, 2017 Friday, October 13, 2017
Thursday, December 14, 2017 Monday, November 27, 2017 Friday, November 17, 2017

NOTES:
1.  All documents are required to be submitted to the City of Beaufort Department of Planning & Development Services
     at 1911 Boundary Street, City Hall.

2.  ALL documents must be submitted in a COMPLETE DIGITAL package on the deadline date.  See Supplement for specific drawings required.
3.  IMPORTANT:  A project will not be reviewed if the applicant or representative is not present at the meeting.


Forms & Applications:

Staff Review Application - Revised 8-15-17
Board Review Application - Revised 12-27-16
Checklist a/k/ Supplement Revised 12-27-16