l Design Review Board - City of Beaufort, South Carolina

Design Review Board

Click here to see all agendas for the Design Review Board.
See current projects under review.

►SCROLL DOWN FOR SCHEDULE, APPLICATION AND SUBMITTAL REQUIREMENTS


The City of Beaufort Design Review Board (DRB) is a five-member board composed of an architect, a landscape architect, a civil engineer, a local business owner and an at-large representative.  The members are appointed by City Council for three years.  Each member may serve on two consecutive terms.

The Design Review Board reviews applications for development within the Development Design Districts for compliance with the standards and guidelines of the Beaufort Code except for those applications where that authority has been delegated to Staff.  It is the purpose of such review to determine, in a cooperative fashion with the applicant, whether the proposed plan meets the guidelines and other standards of this district.  The DRB also reviews and approves Master Sign Plans for new development.  Planning Staff serves as support for the DRB.

The DRB meets on the second Thursday of each month at 2:00 PM. Meetings are currently held at City Hall located at 1911 Boundary Street. 

For more information on the Design Review Board, contact Julie Bachety, Administrative Assistant, at (843) 525-7011 or by email at jbachety@cityofbeaufort.org


Development Design Districts are defined as follows:

“Design Review, either at the Staff or DRB level, is required for all projects in T4, T5, RMX and IC zoning districts, along with all other projects as listed n Section 4.2.2 of the Beaufort Code. Please contact us for more information on the design review process for your specific project.”


Board Members

Benjie Morillo
Michael Brock, Vice-Chairman
Kimberly McFann
Bob Albright
Rett Bullard


2018 Schedule - - DIGITAL SUBMITTAL OF ALL DOCUMENTS ONLY NOW

Meetings are generally held every 2nd Thursday of the month at 2:00 p.m. at 1911 Boundary Street, City Hall, Beaufort,
South Carolina.  If you have any special needs due to a physical challenge, please contact the Department of Planning
& Development Services at (843) 525-7011. 

Meeting Schedule

Deadline for
Regular Projects

Projects Requiring
a public hearing

Thursday, January 11, 2018 Friday, December 29, 2017 Friday, December 15, 2017
Thursday, February 8, 2018 Friday, January 26, 2018 Friday, January 12, 2018
Friday, March 16, 2018 Friday, February 23, 2018 Friday, February 9, 2018
Thursday, April 12, 2018 Friday, March 30, 2018 Friday, March 16, 2018
Thursday, May 10, 2018 Friday, April 27, 2018 Friday, April ,13 2018
Thursday, June 14, 2018 Friday, June 1, 2018 Friday, May 18, 2018
Thursday, July 12, 2018 Friday, June 29, 2018 Friday, June 15, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018 Friday, July 27, 2018 Friday, July 13, 2018
Tuesday, September 13, 2018 Friday, August 31, 2018 Friday, August 17, 2018
Thursday, October 11, 2018 Friday, September 28, 2018 Friday, September 14, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018 Friday, October 26, 2018 Friday, October 12, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018 Friday, November 30, 2018 Friday, November 16, 2018

NOTES:
1.  All documents are required to be submitted to the City of Beaufort Department of Planning & Development Services
     at 1911 Boundary Street, City Hall.

2.  ALL documents must be submitted in a COMPLETE DIGITAL package on the deadline date.  See Supplement for specific drawings required.
3.  IMPORTANT:  A project will not be reviewed if the applicant or representative is not present at the meeting.


Forms & Applications:

Staff Review Application - Revised 2-23-18 (this form should also be used for projects in the Boundary Street and Bladen Street Redevelopment Districts)
Board Review Application - Revised 12-27-16
Checklist - This contains all submittal requirements for the various stages of projects (Conceptual, Preliminary and Final)