l Metropolitan Planning Commission - City of Beaufort, South Carolina

Metropolitan Planning Commission

Click here to see all agendas for the Metropolitan Planning Commission.
See current projects under review.

►SCROLL DOWN FOR SCHEDULE, APPLICATION AND SUBMITTAL REQUIREMENTS


The Beaufort - Town of Port Royal Metropolitan Planning Commission (MPC) is a six-member board. Two of the members are appointed by the City Council; two members are appointed by the Town of Port Royal Town Council; and two members are appointed by the County Council.  After two years, the membership changes to three members from Port Royal and two members from the City of Beaufort.  The MPC has the following powers and duties:

  • Prepare and periodically revise the comprehensive plan;
  • Review and take action on street names;
  • Review and take action on cluster development;
  • Review and make recommendations on Planned Unit Development master plans;
  • Review and make recommendations on public projects;
  • Review and make recommendations to the City Council in regard to amendments to the text of the Unified Development Ordinance (1.06Mb);
  • Review and make recommendations to the City Council in regard to amendments to the Official Zoning Map; 
  • Review and approve preliminary subdivisions plats for Major Subdivisions.  

The Board meets on the third Monday of the month at 5:30 P.M. Meetings are currently held in the Beaufort City Council Chambers located at 1911 Boundary Street, Beaufort, South Carolina.

For more information on the MPC, contact Julie A. Bachety, Administrative Assistant II, at (843) 525-7011 or by email.
 

Project review applications for the Metropolitan Planning Commission can be downloaded here.


Board Members

Joe DeVito - Port Royal (Chairman)
James Crower - Port Royal (Vice-Chairman)
Bill Harris - Beaufort
Tim Rentz - Beaufort
Caroline Fermin - County
George Johnston - County
Robert Semmler - County


 2017 Schedule

All meetings are held every 3rd Monday of the month at 5:30 p.m. at the Beaufort Council Chambers at 1911 Boundary Street, Beaufort, South Carolina.  All Applications are due by 12:00 noon.  If you have special needs due to a physical challenge, please contact the Department of Planning & Development Services at (843) 525-7011.

Meeting Date Deadline for Application Submittal
  Monday, January 9, 2017   Friday, December 9, 2016
  Monday, February 20, 2017   Friday, January 20, 2017
  Monday, March 20, 2017   Friday, February 17, 2017
  Monday, April 17, 2017   Friday, March 17, 2017
  Monday, May 15, 2017   Friday, April 14, 2017
  Monday, June 19, 2017   Friday, May 19, 2017
  Monday, July 17, 2017   Friday, June 16, 2017
  Monday, August 21, 2017   Thursday, July 21, 2017
  Monday, September 18, 2017   Friday, August 18, 2017
  Monday, October 16, 2017   Friday, September 15, 2017
  Monday, November 20, 2017   Friday, October 20, 2017
  Monday, December 18, 2017   Friday, November 17, 2017

Notes:

  1. All documents are required to be submitted to the City of Beaufort Department of Planning & Development Services at 1911 Boundary Street, City Hall, Julie A. Bachety.
  2. Include 6 sets of folded plans, supporting documents, and completed and signed application.
  3. IMPORTANT:  A project will not be reviewed if the applicant or representative is not present at the meeting.

Forms & Applications